Business Development Division

Amanda Pittman
Business Development Division Chair
WALB TV

The purpose of the Business Development Division is to establish a platform for innovative thinking and policy education to support entrepreneurial and business growth; and to provide increased exposure and opportunity through training, mentoring and networking.

The Chamber wants to help our businesses thrive and offer business development workshops, seminars and training opportunities based on needs expressed by our members.  These programs vary by topic, recently organized were Customer Service Training and Technology, Marketing, and Quick Book training.  These programs are promoted to chamber members and the business community at large.

To learn more about the Business Development division and its program of work, as well as our five other divisions, please contact the Chamber at chamber@sumtercountychamber.com to get involved.

Business of the Month Program

The Business of the Month program is designed to spotlight a member business each month that does an exceptional job of serving its customers and the community.  Companies will be selected based on the following qualities: customer service, reputation for integrity and honesty, supporting economic growth by bringing new business into the community, supporting the Sumter County Chamber of Commerce by serving on divisions and/or sponsoring events, and showing support through giving of time and/or donations to local charities, groups, and events.

Now, we want to hear from you!  If you or a business you know makes a sustainable effort to strengthen our community through exceptional business practices and outreach efforts, please complete the Nomination Form or call the Chamber at (229) 924-2646 for more information.

Ambassador Program

The Sumter County Chamber of Commerce Ambassador program consists of committed members who have a good understanding of the benefits and services available to our members.  The Ambassadors assist with promoting the advantages of being a member of the Chamber of Commerce to the business community and they assist the Chamber with welcoming our new members.  Ambassadors are chosen based on their commitment and volunteerism to the Chamber.

Meet our Ambassador TEAM!

Our Ambassadors Team is here to help you and your business take advantage of Chamber benefits and get involved with your Chamber!  Feel free to contact them and meet with them.

Shiver Lumber Company Kimberly Baker, Chair Shiver Lumber Company kbaker@shiverlumber.com
Georgia Southwestern State University Amber Debaise Georgia Southwestern State University amber.debaise@gsw.edu
Sumter County Board of Commissioners Janis Jarvis Sumter County Board of Commissioners jjarvis@sumtercountyga.us
ServPro of Americus Samantha Marshall ServPro of Americus marketing@servproalbany.com
WoodmenLife Misty Meadows WoodmenLife mdmeadows@woodma.org
Georgia Southwestern State University Jane Mooney Georgia Southwestern State University janie.mooney@gsw.edu
The Staffing People Kenny Phillips The Staffing People kphillips@thestaffingpeople.net
WALB-TV Amanda Pittman WALB-TV amanda.pittman@walb.com
Russ Childers Insurance Agency, LLC Susan Ruckman Russ Childers Insurance Agency, LLC susanruckman@att.net
ServPro of Americus Alina Taylor ServPro of Americus ataylor@servproalbany.com